Re: Re: Practicing Jazz

[ Follow Ups ] [ Post Followup ] [ TubeNet BBS ] [ FAQ ]

Posted by Joe Sellmansberger on April 12, 1999 at 21:57:55:

In Reply to: Re: Practicing Jazz posted by I have another question? (Brian) on April 12, 1999 at 11:18:24:

Bach is said to have learned compositional techniques from the tedious practice of copying the music scores of other composers (note-by-note -- down on paper). By sitting down and doing this, he forced himself to observe every detail of the other composers' compositional techniques. Quite soon, the techniques that they used, in that how those techniques created sound, function, etc., became overwhelmingly apparent to Bach. When I was about 17 years old and wanted to sound to others like I knew how to be a jazz player (I was a jazz novice), I would record L.P.s (does anyone remember what THOSE were?) on to cassette tapes and then play top artists really cool jazz solos phrase-by-phrase (stopping the tape a lot, and rewinding) and WRITE THEM DOWN. Then, I would learn them on my horn, with all of the nuances (at least TRIED to include all of the nuances) that I heard on the recordings. Getting into it this deeply forced me to look at and eventually understand what they were doing (even how they were clever about working with "whoops" notes in their solos).