Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Teacher wont let me use my new CC horn!!

[ Follow Ups ] [ Post Followup ] [ TubeNet BBS ] [ FAQ ]

Posted by Klaus on August 15, 2001 at 16:11:40:

In Reply to: Re: Re: Re: Re: Teacher wont let me use my new CC horn!! posted by Joe Baker on August 15, 2001 at 14:49:16:

A drawback of my barrage in this matter is, that I hardly can manage to give fair replies to all.

Normally I stay away from threads on the US education system, because it is different from ours.

In this case I smelled a rat so rotten, that I had to react.

I have thrown students out of bands and classes. Unchallenged by my superiors. If there was any common denominator between these very few students, then this one, that they were psychopaths with enough talent and energy to destroy any joy, energy, and, hence, development in their fellow students.

I was a tough and rough teacher. Challenging any student to his/hers limits. Generally with a greater heart towards dedication than pure gifted talent in students. Which mostly was accepted as a fair attitude. Except by the extremely few (one single person in fact), who took his argumentation from his social position and from nothing else).

And any student, in school or music school, knew of my, often fruitful, fights with administration, parents, dealers, and whoever to get the best equipment in instruments, books, and other learning tools.

And back in the pre-computing age, when I could still use my hand as a wpencil holder, they could see on their music stands, that any ensemble part had been made exactly within the scope of each ensemble member.
Or had been very carefully chosen and/or modified from stock editions.