Re: Starting out & Confused

[ Follow Ups ] [ Post Followup ] [ TubeNet BBS ] [ FAQ ]

Posted by Rob Perelli-Minetti on January 26, 2000 at 08:41:22:

In Reply to: Starting out & Confused posted by Dave on January 25, 2000 at 14:48:41:

Your situation is very much like mine was a few years ago when I started playing again after a 25+ year lay off. I would try to borrow a horn while you are getting your chops back and deciding just how serious you want to be.

I would suggest you begin with your local community band, if there is one. There is a good chance it will own one or two (probably 3 valve) BBb and/or Eb tubas and/or sousaphones. [Eg., The Sound Beach Volunteer Fire Department Band, my community band, owns two tubas (a 3v BBb York, and a 3v Eb Conn) and three sousaphones (a no name European built 3v BBb, a 4v York Eb and a 3v King Eb)] Unless there are a lot of new players, your community band might well have a horn you can use.

If your community band has no horns, or there is no community band, check around the local junior colleges, high schools and junior high schools. Especially if you have or had children in the band programs, you might be able to borrow something they're not using, such as an upright during marching season or a sousaphone during concert season, or an old beater they've got in the store room [Again a local example, one of the middle schools in my town has 3 quite decent King BBb sousaphones they don't use at all any more, and the director was happy to lend me my pick before I picked up a Conn 20K for myself.]