Re: Range of Besson 983?

[ Follow Ups ] [ Post Followup ] [ TubeNet BBS ] [ FAQ ]

Posted by semi-serious reply on January 26, 2001 at 22:36:29:

In Reply to: Range of Besson 983? posted by Bill Schultz on January 26, 2001 at 19:55:00:

I'm a lazy amateur tubist who plays with quartet and quintet, using the Besson 983 Eb. On the low end, playing down to the pedal BBBb - AAAb range isn't too difficult, but that's about it for me, and don't ask for any speed with these notes. (This would be about 6 ledger lines below the staff.) At the high end, with quite an embouchure shift (hope I spelled that somewhat close) I can squeek out the trumpet tuning BBb. So there's your 4 octave range.

I'm presently using a PT-72 mouthpiece, which I find helps the low, compensating notes speak ("pop-out", commence, etc.) more quickly -- i.e. better response. But the PT-72 isn't a small, Eb/F tuba mpc, so a smaller diameter cup might improve the high end a bit. However, the Sheridan solo mpc (Dillon) measures in at just a shade less than 32mm (31.8mm), I've been told, and that's still larger than the 24AW, Wick 4, Wick 5, etc. So Pat isn't using a ultra-small mpc to get his high range -- it's just Pat!

Comfortably, this instrument (and I) can handle the three octaves from the pedal Eb to the high Eb above middle C. But I don't have to play many notes above middle C, so I'm not personally completely comfortable in that last 1/3 octave.