Re: I need motivation!!

[ Follow Ups ] [ Post Followup ] [ TubeNet BBS ] [ FAQ ]

Posted by Bill on July 02, 2001 at 02:03:03:

In Reply to: I need motivation!! posted by Burned out on June 23, 2001 at 20:52:19:

I am a professional tuba player who teaches elementary school (not band, but regular 6-hour classroom teaching). I used to be a high school, then a junior high school (middle school) band director. I realized thinking music, music, music all the time was burning me out and I actually hated to see my tubas.

Because of a family emergency (my dad became very sick and I had to take care of him for over a year) I had to relocate from a different part of the world to stay with my dad until my mom retired so she could take care of him. (I did this with my own wife and two adolescent daughters! I don't recommend this for anyone unless they're absolutely certain their marriage is rock solid!) Because of what I was doing with my dad I had to take a night job and I worked for almost six months as a security guard for a fruit packing house, while doing limited professional and church playing on the weekends. Eventually, I realized through that life that I worked with professional musicians on weekends and kids who could care less during the week. Something had to go when I went back to teaching and it was music education.

Now I have multiple degrees in tuba performance and both professional and personal experiences nobody can top! I do records when I can, play for weddings, orchestras, and fill in wherever they can use a tuba player who's willing to do anything (so long as it's family oriented.)

You see, one thing a lot of young musicians don't realize is that if you spend your time studying and working with music, it can't be your hobby, no matter how much you think you like it!