Re: Please Indulge Me (***LONG***)

[ Follow Ups ] [ Post Followup ] [ TubeNet BBS ] [ FAQ ]

Posted by Doug on November 21, 2001 at 22:54:41:

In Reply to: Please Indulge Me (***LONG***) posted by Dave on November 21, 2001 at 15:24:11:

Hey

Im in a different yet similar situation.

I am a high school student (a senior) and I have for the past two years been experiencing what i guess is the high school equivalent to a "burn out." i found that my problem comes from the fact that I am a perfectionist. Unfortunately, i am an impatient perfectionist. I am easily upset by mistakes. I practice a peice and miss a note--the session is ruined. I have to wait and cool off and restart. Last week in particular i pulled out my all state etude and just for the heck of it decided to rip right through it a the full tempo and it was the best i ever played it. Except i missed one octave leap, went from a G to an F instead of G to G. When i do something like that its the same sensation as having your foot stuck in quicksand right as you discover your pants are too tight put you cant reach them because your hands are scratching an itch on your head that doesnt go away and then you realize everyone is watching you (whew).

This frustration has had some good effects. I am a LOT better than i used to be, and i learn very quickly what mistakes NOT to do. However, this mostly hurts in an audition, when I hit sight reading and i am generally regarded as a VERY good sight reader but i miss one samll technical thing and i may be the only one who notices but it does it and the whole thing is shot.