Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Gross injustices

[ Follow Ups ] [ Post Followup ] [ TubeNet BBS ] [ FAQ ]

Posted by Jay Bertolet on November 28, 2001 at 11:52:12:

In Reply to: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Gross injustices posted by Kenneth Sloan on November 28, 2001 at 02:45:52:

Also, with all due respect: no, no, no ,no, no, no!!! ;-)

I have been watching this discussion unfold and your post finally spurred me to respond. I couldn't disagree with you more (and some of what Rick Denney posted earlier) regarding the role of real world training for the college musician. I'm not going to debate with you the merits of such arguments as they apply to other fields because, to be honest, I wouldn't really know what I'm talking about. I'm in music and that is what I am an expert on. I will confine my arguments to that realm.

Consider the path of the would-be musician. You achieve a certain level of playing in primary education and decide, right or wrong, that you'd like to pursue a career in music. You audition for and (hopefully) are accepted into Music School X. If you have a good primary instrument instructor (in my opinion), your training revolves around two key areas: mastering your instrument and learning the skills necessary to compete for a job. Both of these sound like real world training to me. Rick pointed out earlier that we learn a lot of useless information in music degree programs like theory and history, things we'll never apply when we get out to the real world. Actually, this statement really bothered me because a good musician IS using these skills on a daily basis on the job. If there is one thing I could change about my college experience, it would be to go back and take those courses much more seriously. I would be a better musician as a result.