Re: Re: Airline Surcharge

[ Follow Ups ] [ Post Followup ] [ TubeNet BBS ] [ FAQ ]

Posted by jeff miller on September 29, 2001 at 08:31:44:

In Reply to: Re: Airline Surcharge posted by jdin on September 25, 2001 at 11:22:33:

I have a lot of experience flying internationally with a tuba, and have flown both with tubas in the cargo hold as well as in seats. Both have advantages and disadvantages. If you are considering flying with your tuba in a seat, I suggest you read this post. (I know it's long and vitreolic, but believe me, it's worth it to know what can happen)

Basically, the big problem with buying a seat for an instrument is that the airline beauracracy isn't set up to handle that sort of transaction, and a lot of problems can result, with the worst case scenario being told that you have to put it in the hold anyway.

Here's my worst case story. Last month, I flew from the UK to the US with British Airways, and, to save hassle/expense/danger of damage, bought a seat for my 4/4 Hirsbrunner. I bought the tuba through a well known, reputable travel agent that I have used many times.

The travel agent told me that that the seat reservation for the tuba would need to be approved by the airline, but that the ticket needed to be purchased first. I called British Airways Customer Advice, gave them the dimensions and details, and was told that I would have no problem whatsoever putting the tuba on the plane. I bought the non-refundable tickets and gave the agent the dimensions of my tuba in a gig bag.