Re: In Defense of HS Teachers

[ Follow Ups ] [ Post Followup ] [ TubeNet BBS ] [ FAQ ]

Posted by Rick Denney on September 04, 2002 at 13:37:39:

In Reply to: In Defense of HS Teachers posted by Chuck Jackson on September 03, 2002 at 17:57:08:

Whew! Lots of stuff to dig into here. This is a long post--beware.

I am an engineer steeped in the systems concept of design. In that approach, we first define our needs, and from those flow requirements. The requirements drive the design, and then we test to make sure the product meets the requirements.

Let's follow this exercise for schooling of minor children. (Once they are old enough to vote, I think they are on their own as far as education is concerned, so college and vocational training aren't part of this.)

How I would define the needs:
1. Emerging adults able to inform themselves sufficiently to vote intelligently and responsibly.
2. Emerging adults who possess the mix of basic skills sufficient to form the basis for private job training or adult education.

The requirements that I think flow from these needs:
At the end of the schooling, the schooled should be able to--
1. Read newspapers and books and understand what is written.
2. Be able to express themselves effectively in the language of most people.
3. Know enough about history and government to...
3.1 Realize that most societal problems have in the past been faced and addressed, in ways that are sometimes effective and sometimes disastrous, and
3.2 Know who is responsible for what government function, and the limits of that responsibility.
4. Have enough of an exposure to culture to develop of sense of what is worth preserving, especially when those cultural studies also directly support reading and writing skills.
5. Perform the arithmetic and science needed to provide the basis for learning how to solve problems.

The design would therefore be: