Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Tastes...

[ Follow Ups ] [ Post Followup ] [ TubeNet BBS ] [ FAQ ]

Posted by David on August 06, 2003 at 08:19:15:

In Reply to: Re: Re: Re: Re: Tastes... posted by issue on August 06, 2003 at 07:27:41:

The direction of tuba sound, hmmmm...

We as students of a particular teacher will try our best to emulate them depending on how much we were influenced. Personally, I studied with Abe Torchinsky, Roger Bobo, Bill Rose, Ron Bishop, Harvy Phillips, Ron Borror, and Don Hummel. Don Hummel, Roger Bobo, and Bill Rose had the most influence, thus the sound concepts I have. Who is Don Hummel? A trombonist who studied with Emory Remington. He taught at Wichita State University and later was principal trombone in Kansas City. You probably heard of the other two.

Trying to figure out the direction of where we are going is like trying to figure out which direction the dog is going to run. It will frustrate you and interest you at the same time. It gives us something to think about and will always be a source of discussion.

Personally, I like a very focused sound. That sound concept does not seem to coincide with the current orchestral concept. The larger the horn, the more "fuzz" that exists in the sound. It will cover like a fog, but has little or no center. For a large orchestra, that works. For a concert band, it works. Put the same performer on stage alone for a solo and it sounds muddy and those of us not in an orchestra wonder how a person got the job.

Different mouthpieces also produce different results. One can take a large horn and create either a small core with lots of fuzz around it for the orchestra sound or one can use a mouthpiece that creates a very large core of sound which will bury the orchestra. Which one of those sounds do you suppose the rest of the brass section will want to hear?