Re: Re: effective ranges of BBb CC EEb F

[ Follow Ups ] [ Post Followup ] [ TubeNet BBS ] [ FAQ ]

Posted by Rick Denney on December 11, 2000 at 12:41:51:

In Reply to: Re: effective ranges of BBb CC EEb F posted by Mike F. on December 08, 2000 at 18:08:28:

I've read the other answers, and this weekend I conducted an experiment. I've been having some fun with the TubaChristmas book, and I've played all four parts on some of the more interesting arrangements. So, while doing that, I played some excerpts to explore my range as of this moment. I'm an amateur with limited playing time and only memories of past years when I had stronger chops, so my conclusions are based on that "foundation."

I can play my euphonium comfortably and confidently (barring fried chops) up to about an A above the staff. This is, of course, not too impressive to euphonium players, heh, heh. The lowest note I can play with reasonable sound on my smaller, old American euph is about the F at the bottom of the staff. I think I'll be able to do much better on the low end when I replace the leadpipe and get a bigger mouthpiece (for now, I'm limited to a 6 1/2 AL--bigger mouthpieces play too flat on that horn).

On my small Yamaha F tuba, I'm comfortable to the high F (one step below that G). The Bydlo G# is always a hit-or-miss proposition, and the high Bb in Symphony Fantastique is a practice-room fantasy (so to speak). The A high spot of the first-movement cadenza in the Vaughan Williams is about a 50% shot. But I can play that instrument comfortably and predictably (albeit with a lot of fingers) down to a pedal D or C.