Glut of Navel Gazing (long post)

[ Follow Ups ] [ Post Followup ] [ TubeNet BBS ] [ FAQ ]

Posted by Daryl Bean on June 13, 2002 at 11:27:12:

Hi guys,

I was just noticing the huge amount of self-evaluating that seems to be taking place out loud here on the board. It's really interesting that this time of year really seems to bring it out - because the school year is drawing to a close, whatever. I thought some folks might want to share outstanding stories of navel gazing (plus their eventual outcome) as a service to some of the members that are going through it right now.

Mine story is kind of unusual - I finished my Master's degree in performance from MSU (wonderful tuba instructor, nice place) and was going through the post-degree ennui that many seem to; I couldn't seem to figure out why I wasn't further ahead than I was after all the hard work I did (and not just in the two years of the master's; I'd been busting butt for two years prior just to GET INTO a good university master's program, plus the four years worth of undergrad training I had). I felt like I was STILL struggling to get into the bands I wanted, and not quite getting the respect and recognition I felt like I deserved from my peers. I couldn't understand why I always felt like I was hanging on for dear life instead of succeeding wildly. Then it hit me - I SUCKED. I wasn't where I felt like I should be because I SUCKED. I wasn't getting the respect I felt like I deserved because I SUCKED. Ouch. Then I had to figure out why I sucked and what I had to do to change it. I knew it wasn't a new horn, or a better teacher, or whatever (at the time, I had two fabulous horns and a GREAT teacher); I knew the answer had to be somewhere in ME.