EMERGENCY SALE!!

[ Follow Ups ] [ Post Followup ] [ TubeNet BBS ] [ FAQ ]

Posted by Wade Rackley on May 02, 2003 at 13:59:44:

EMERGENCY SALE!!!!

Due to unforeseen (and rather unforgiving) circumstances, I am forced to sell two of my tubas for prices significantly lower than I would normally accept.

There are two real reasons for this.

One is that I need the money NOW! A family member is in serious financial trouble and I owe them money. If I sell these horns at a really low price point, I might sell them quickly enough to pay them back ahead of schedule and maybe get them through this bad stretch that they are having.

The other reason (that will drop the prices more) is that they both need some work that I have been putting on the back burner for a few years. When the work was completed, I had planned to sell them at normal prices, but the work is undone and they need to go NOW!!

Here is what I have:

1959 Alexander 163 BBb tuba with four valves. Has jumbo receiver. Very minor dents. I bought it with clockwork springs, but converted it to spirals last year. This horn has the usual odd Alex intonation, but is quite playable. It is a bit stiff in flexibility. It has a hard case that is in need of repair; no gig bag. This was my "project" horn - my Guinea Pig for experimental modifications, and I HAD some big plans for it; or I did until this situation cropped up unexpectedly. The upper rotor bearings ought to be swedged, and it is currently set up for a tall player (high lead pipe). Flow of 3 and 4 has been reversed. It is unlacquered.

If you want that great Alexander sound on a BBb tuba and are willing to get some work done to the tuba and case (or buy a gig bag), this could be one for you. $1,900 with Doug Elliott MP and damaged case.