Another Brasswind Diary

[ Follow Ups ] [ Post Followup ] [ TubeNet BBS ] [ FAQ ]

Posted by Anthony Labelle on July 14, 2001 at 23:40:32:

On the way back from my now annual trip to visit my parents in Tennessee, I made a point of stopping at the Brasswind(which, despite only adding about 2 hours of road time, somehow added about 10 hours to my trip :~) . The trend nowadays after a trip to a tuba candy-store is to post a long-winded account of it… well, I'm not one to break tradition, so here it is:

(keep in mind that I'm no professional… just an average college student who enjoys an occasional romp in $2,000,000 worth of tubas. Take my observations for what they're worth.)

The horn I was mostly interested in was the Rudy Piston(CCC) tuba.. after having heard so much about it from others who have tried it, and a couple of people who currently own one, I couldn't wait to get my hands on it. Well… I don't know if it was that immense anticipation, or the fact that I hadn't played in almost 3 weeks(vacation!), but I was at first pretty disappointed with horn… fortunately for me, though, I had brought along my MD Recorder and mic, and recorded all day. The sound on this horn is INCREDIBLE!! It had a few stuffy notes in the lower register, and wasn't by any means a "perfect" horn, but upon listening to the recording in my truck after the store closed, I was absolutely certain that the amazing tone of this horn makes up for any of it's miniscule shortcomings. I played it some more throughout the day, and I got to like it more and more… looking at the other option of a 4/4 horn at that price(Read: Conn), you definitely can't go wrong with the Rudy.