gadget, gadgets, & more gadgets (a vent)

[ Follow Ups ] [ Post Followup ] [ TubeNet BBS ] [ FAQ ]

Posted by js on July 03, 2002 at 17:24:48:

OK, I live and work in a medium-large U.S. city - Memphis, Tennessee. I beat on brass instruments for a living. Obviously, I can make more money (to feed my family, etc.) straightening out messed up school instruments than I can improving, as an example, slide alignment from 98% correct to 100% correct (to install custom triggers, etc.), because there is simply a limit to what one can charge for such things. Fairly regularly a few of the better wind players who graduate from high schools here end up going off to "important" music schools. The brass students who do this invariably come back (Christmas break, spring break, summer vacation) wanting me to outfit their instruments with (not one, not two, but) all of the lastest gadgets that they have seen on instrument(s) during their school year of being exposed to many extraordinary players who play their instrument.

As students who own VERY FINE instruments (tubas and euphoniums, in the case of this bbs), may I encourage you to be very happy with a 4 or five valve instrument, perhaps one with a 1st valve slide which moves freely?

None of these young customers who have come in wanting all of these gadgets (though, admitting attending prestigious schools) have been "artist" level players. Clearly, they still play like (very good) students with significant work left to do in their playing ability before they are ready to decide to eliminate the last 1/10 of 1/10 of 1/10 of 1/10 of 1% of imperfection in their tone/intonation with expensive and time-consuming-to-install gadgets.