Re: old Reiner "Living Stereo" recordings

[ Follow Ups ] [ Post Followup ] [ TubeNet BBS ] [ FAQ ]

Posted by Tony Tuba on March 17, 2002 at 19:37:52:

In Reply to: old Reiner "Living Stereo" recordings posted by js on March 17, 2002 at 15:26:00:

Joe,

I'd love to chat about this topic a bit,and even go further off course, because I share your passion for performances captured in the great "golden era" by, among others, the RCA Living Stereo series. Some of these are recordings capture the best of the Reiner/Chicago Symphony. And there is a tremendously exciting re-issue program being undertaken by JVC through their XRCD program.

Unlike many of you on the board, I'm just a lowly amateur/hobby tubist. Over the last 10 years, as an owner of a construction company that builds luxury homes, I became passionately involved with the installation and set up of both home theaters and dedicated 2 channel listening rooms. For some of our clients (perhaps most), it's simply about the equipment and the big explossions. But for others, including myself, it's an opportunity to get closer to the music in one's home. In my home, I'm able to enjoy the playback of recordings released in virtually any of the analog or digital formats available. Joe, the Reiner/Chicago Living Stereo L.P.'s give extrodinary insight to the music of the Reiner CSO. I've acquired a few mint ones, had them professionally cleaned, and play them back on a system that can extract all the details...WOW.