Re: Decisions...Decisions...Decisions...

[ Follow Ups ] [ Post Followup ] [ TubeNet BBS ] [ FAQ ]

Posted by Ken Sturgeon on December 17, 2001 at 04:10:39:

In Reply to: Decisions...Decisions...Decisions... posted by James McNeil on December 15, 2001 at 21:42:10:

I was a private tuba instructor in one of the top music school districts in north Texas for a year. I taught 48 students from 6th thru 12th grade. The primary band director at the high school (there were three full-time directors at that high school) saw it fit to start every new tuba student on one particular mouthpiece which happened to be a Bach 18. I have nothing against Bach mouthpieces, however, I believe that the mouthpiece was a bit large for some of my beginning students. I recommending that they just TRY some other mouthpieces (such as a Bach 24 or Miraphone C4) to see if they would work better.